top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePix

The rose also rises

Updated: Jun 30, 2023


This Solstice, I visited Wittenham Clumps, near where I live. Rather inexplicably, I’d never been there before. Maybe I and the land there were waiting for the right moment. I’d never been there before. It was passed to the Earth Trust in 1937, for the peppercorn rent of one rose. It’s a place where the Mary and Michael ley lines cross. There are two hills with flat tops, with woodland on the flat part. I suspect the ley runs between them. There is very much a feeling of the divine feminine and masculine there. It was quite sensual! It was also very refined and pure and uplifting. Interestingly, 1937 adds up to 11, and 2, which has to do with divine union, amongst other things.


I walked up the hill barefoot, and as I ascended I felt the watery weight of the energy, as if I was passing through a portal. I just let my body follow the energy, trusting it would land in the right place. I had drawn henna patterns on my feet for solstice, and earlier I had felt the energy from the earth vibrating there, so I think that helped. I stopped briefly by a bench, where I found the remains of a yellow rose, but moved on, and found myself settling by a very friendly thorn tree. She was very kind and gentle. There were pink and white striped convolvulus flowers mixed in with the clover on the ground all around her base. The convolvulus is a form of morning glory, and it really was a glorious morning, in a very quiet and peaceful way.


She gifted me a branch that she had shed from her form many years ago. It is full of magic, and healing power.


I sat with my clear quartz crystal, who has been to many magical places with me, and tuned into the land. I connected to the angelic realms above. I usually connect down to the centre of the earth, but was guided just to sit there, and open my base chakra into the ground. I felt my base, and womb area, merging with the hill. It felt very supportive and nurturing. A pink-red rose cupped my form all around in my mind’s eye. I nestled into it. The energy ‘rose’ up to meet me! The hill was telling me I didn’t need to do anything, except open to receive the love and support of its spirit and life force. It was quite a revelation. So I sat there in the rose, listening to the birds twittering above, and watching butterflies with black and white patterned wings playing around me. There were also cobalt blue dragon flies who had dipped the tips of their tails in turquoise. They were hovering around in the most elegant and skilful manner, mostly in tandem. How wonderful to merge energies with another in pure air. The airbourne life was expressing most elegantly the harmony I felt all around me.

I ran the microcosmic orbit a little, and as I sat there, connected to the time and the space around me, I felt the primal waters deep below the earth rising up through me, up through my central column, and out like a toroidal fountain over me, and all down the hill in sparkling pure rivulets. They were like wishes for the whole earth, for its future.

I played with some qigong bird forms, but it was really a bit too windy. I realised I was just meant to sit and be in the moment, cupped in my rose, absorbing the energy. It was so peaceful and timeless. I felt the sacredness of that moment, and how I had stepped out of mundane temporal reality, into one that was very much elemental. I sensed the elementals all around. I was told by them ‘find the gold in your own blessings’.


It felt very much like the Tor at Glastonbury, and I was aware of how I was connected to all the energy points on that line. In my mind’s eye I connected my quartz crystal, that was beside me, with the amethyst crystal I had placed in my allotment. My allotment is next to a ley line, and I think there is a ley line running through it as well, as an echo of the full ley. It appeared to me once in a dream, as a stream of water, with a little cascade in it.


I only had time to visit one of the clumps, which felt very much like the feminine one, of Mary, and I think that is how it was meant to be. As I was leaving an elemental standing under a tree opened his cupped hands wide, and out flew a whole tribe of beautiful blue butterflies. In return I gave him golden light, and they said that was for the land. I left some cacao nibs for the elementals under the thorn tree. I meant to bring lavender from my allotment, but I forgot. Next time, which will be quite another time entirely.


I thanked the hill. I said to the thorn, ’I honour your grace with my love’. I walked down the hill barefoot, past the purple vetch on my right, like a wild sweet pea, and on my left amazing spherical seedheads that were like gossamer chi balls. They seemed to me to be full of fairy wishes. As I descended, I gently tapped the rhythm of my steps with the stick the thorn gave me, and sang the Daoist heart healing sound - ‘ho’. It felt very earthing and warm, like chocolate.

I got back just in time to start my gardening job. I work for a friend of mine who understands about the elemental world, and spiritual matters. Five of her cats came out to greet me, and four of them arranged themselves on a bench in front of me. It was as if they could sense the energy of the place I had come from, and were communing with it, and with me. It made me aware that I could continue to guide the energy, or the energy could continue to guide me, so I sent it into the woodland, where there is strangeness, and made wishes for my friend’s healing. She gave me homemade peppermint tea in a teapot with a ceramic frog on the lid, and I drank it out of a double layered japanese tea bowl with little hearts cut out of the sides. There were almond biscuits on a dish with a yellow rose on it.


It was definitely a very magical day. The next day my friend, who has psychic vision, thought I’d put rainbow nail polish on my toenails.



9 views

Recent Posts

See All

snowsong

The other morning I opened the curtains to find snowflakes gracing the air with their beauty Their collective movement, soft and slow and syncopated, combed through my mind, and I found myself entra

bottom of page